Some text for blind people

BLACK MONOLITH Reveal New Song “Gold Watch”

Black MonolithFrom the darkest regions of the internet (and hosted by the kind folks at Noisey), a new track from Oakland, CA’s one man black metal project of Gary Bettencourt: Black Monolith, has surfaced. The track titled “Gold Watch” is much more than your standard black metal with blast beats and skull-crushing noise. It takes any and all parameters of the aforementioned styles and sounds and steps outside of any preconceived notions. Especially for anyone who listened to and was enamored with their 2011 Demo release.

Black Monolith‘s debut release, Passenger, for the newly-formed All Black Recording Company, label started by Deafheaven‘s George Clarke and longtime friend Derek Prine, who also happens to be DFHVN‘s former bassist, will see the light (or darkness?) in April 2014.

Stay tuned to the label’s official site: http://allblackrecordingcompany.com/

NOTHING Premiere Video for “Bent Nail”; Major Tour Dates this Spring

NothingPhilly’s newgaze wunderkids Nothing have been wowing people all over with the release of their Guilty of Everything LP (reviewed here). It just a matter of time before a video was released. So they enlisted Don Argott (The Art Of The Steal, As The Palaces Burn) to shoot and direct and a cameo appearance by Kurt Vile. The video, shot live, has the band performing at their local hangout Boot & Saddle to a very “animated” crowd. Just watch and enjoy.

Furthermore, Nothing will be heading out on a number of tour dates in May which will see them playing to crows with the likes of Pelican, Whirr, and Youth Code. Dates are below after the jump after the video.

Continue reading…

Candy Hearts Premiere New Song “I Miss You”

Candy HeartsEveryone’s favorite sugary-sweet pop punkers Candy Hearts have a new song out, “I Miss You”, which will be available across all online download sites. The good folks at Alternative Press are giving everyone a chance to hear it first. The band is gearing up for the release of their new full-length album All The Ways You Let Me Down on June 10th. The album which contains 11 new songs, was recorded with Chad Gilbert (New Found Glory) and will see the release on his Violently Happy Records label.

To listen to “I Miss You”, click here.

Belgium’s Newmoon Sign with Secret Voice; “Invitation To Hold” 7″ EP Out Soon

NewmoonBelgium’s Newmoon have joined the Secret Voice family to soon release their Invitation To Hold 7″ EP. With a sound “reflecting 90′s heroes Slowdive and modern bands as The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Newmoon bears the innocence and humbleness to become much more than they could ever expect.”

Newmoon started in 2013 as a two-man project and quickly became a fuller band (five members) whose music is layered in reverb and influenced by volume, eventually recording their debut EP Invitation To Hold. This is the first European act to sign up with Jeremy Bolm’s (Touché Amoré) Secret Voice label.

Listen & watch their video for “Aria” off the EP.

HAVE A NICE LIFE Premiere Video for “Dan and Tim, Reunited by Fate”

Have_a_Nice_LifeConnecticut’s post-anything & everything group Have A Nice Life have premiered a video for the song “Dan and Tim, Reunited by Fate” off their recently-released The Unnatural World LP thanks kindly to the folks at Alarm Magazine. The video, directed by Gardenback, has imagery “bathed in a thick red-orange light, follows a scared and confused-looking guy, floating between reality and dreams of a ritualistic ceremony.” Furthermore, “Other than shots of flickering flames, skulls, and the doe-eyed Loren Peta, we don’t see much of the action happening in the scene. Instead, the song helps to tell the chilling narrative, reflected in the man’s nervous eyes.”

Needless to say, it adds a new level of allure to an already great song in a great record. Read our review of The Unnatural World here.

You can still pick up The Unnatural World from The Flenser here. And you should. Nay. You must!

UNRESTRAINED Release New Song “Ethel Mertz”; New Album ‘Forward Onto Death’ Out On May 2014

UNRESTRAINEDPortland, OR’s hardcore band Unrestrained are set to release a new album, Forward Onto Death, in May 2014 via Trip Machine Laboratories. To whet your appetite, the band has premiered a song and video for the track “Ethel Mertz”.

Unrestrained‘s sound is deeply-rooted in 90′s hardcore. Listening to them will harken back to bands like Indecision, Deadguy, Kiss It Goodbye, and a few others but they have they have their own style and feel. None more so evident than with this new track. Even the video itself lends for a view of what hardcore was really like and what it meant. Unrestrained are the real deal when it comes to hardcore.

Battleghost Announces EP, Releases Video For “Stateless”

Battleghost - Transient EPVirginia pop-punk outfit Battleghost has announced that they’ll be releasing a new EP entitled Transient. The EP is currently slated for a May 15th release.

You can check out the video for “Stateless”, the lead track from the upcoming EP, below, and read on for the Transient EP track listing.

Continue reading…

Frontier(s) To Release New 12″ EP “White Lights” on May 24th on Tiny Engines

FrontiersFrontier(s), the post-punk band comprised of members of Elliott, Falling Forward, Mouthpiece, and The Enkindels, will be making their Tiny Engines debut on the White Lights 12″ EP. The EP is set to be released on May 24th and saw band recording once again with Elliott / Wax Fang drummer Kevin Ratterman (My Morning Jacket, Young Widows, Coliseum) at La La Land Studios in the band’s hometown of Louisville, KY.

Furthermore, the EP was originally scheduled to be a two or three song 7″, but the band ended up recording 5 songs and over 20 minutes of new music.

Pre-ordering info as well as a song premiere coming soon in April. Check out the tracklisting below.

frontier-smallWhite Lights Track Listing

1. Higher Hills
2. 33/3
3. Our March
4. The Low High
5. Bare Hands

Tigers Jaw Announce U.S. Tour with Pity Sex, Petal, Loose Planes and Wild Moth

Tigers Jaw TourTigers Jaw have posted your dates for a jaunt across the U.S., mostly major cities, starting in June. Pity Sex, Petal, Loose Planes and Wild Moth will be along as well.

Tigers Jaw are releasing a new album, Charmer, via Run For Cover Records on Juen 3rd, just in time for the tour.

06/16 Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer (Record Release Show)
06/17 Boston, MA @ Middle East Downstairs
06/18 Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
06/19 Toronto, ON @ Hard Luck
06/20 Chicago, IL @ Subterranean
06/22 Denver, CO @ Marquis Theatre
06/23 Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
06/25 San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill
06/26 Los Angeles, CA @ Center For Arts, Eagle Rock

Wildhoney To Release Debut LP via Deranged Records and Forward Records

WildhoneyBaltimore newgazers Wildhoney will not only be heading into the studio (Beat Babies Studios) in June to record their first full-length, but the LP will be released via a split collaboration between Deranged Records (Fucked up, The Men, Pleasure Leftist, White Lung) and Forward Records (Pity Sex and Radiator Hospital). Wildhoney have been creating some waves since their self-titled 7″ on Nostalgium Directive was released (review here) and they have a new 3-song EP titled Seventeen Forever out on April 20th on Photobooth Records. Listen to the track “Seventeen Forever” below.